Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens, 47 acres of botanical bliss fronting the Pacific Ocean

Annual Rhododendron Show

 gallery image
One of MCBG
 gallery image
 gallery image
The elegant tent featured a cascade of vibrant rhododendrons, raffles, a silent auction, people
 gallery image
Sweepstakes winners, Dennis and Valerie McKiver show off some of their winning trusses. Photo by Dick Jones, Noyo Chapter American Rhododendron Society gallery image
 gallery image
 gallery image
Photo by Dick Jones, Noyo Chapter American Rhododendron Society gallery image
The Gardens took away quite a few awards this year! gallery image

HINT Click the images above for a closer look!

Results from the 39th Annual John Druecker Memorial Rhododendron Show

Trophy Winners

Best of Show - Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens, Big Leaf hybrid

Best Noyo Chief - Dick Jones

People's Choice – Valerie & Dennis McKiver, ‘Pt. Defiance’ spray

Best Deciduous Azalea Truss – Lloyd G. Turner Memorial Award

Valerie & Dennis McKiver, ‘Homebush’

Best Deciduous Azalea Spray – Rose Turner Award

Phillip and Lucy Johnson, unknown

Best Evergreen Azalea Spray - Philip B. Cornell Memorial Award  

John Winding, ‘Shin Kotobuki’ 

Best New Introduction – Peter Schick Memorial Trophy

Phillip and Lucy Johnson, ‘Nancy Evans’ X ‘Noyo Chief’

Best Red Rhododendron – Celeri & Son Nursery Trophy 

Tom & Kathryn Charters, ‘Captain Jack’

Best Lavender Rhododendron

Valerie & Dennis McKiver, ‘Fastuossum Flore Pleno’

Best White Rhododendron - David and Rhoda Ward Trophy 

Bob & Judy Mathey, R. edgeworthii

Best Large Hybrid Spray - Bluewater Trophy 

Valerie & Dennis McKiver, ‘Pt. Defiance’ spray

Best Small Species Rhododendron - The Philp Family Trophy 

Ken & Nodga Jones, R. concatenans

Best Yakushimanum Hybrid Truss - Bill & Lorraine Fee Trophy

Dick Jones, ‘Senator Jackson’

Best Pink Rhododendron - Mendocino Coast Botanical Garden Trophy 

Valerie & Dennis McKiver, ‘Georgeous George’

Sweepstakes Award – Dennis & Valerie McKiver

Blue Ribbon Winners

13 winners of the 59 blue ribbons awarded (13 winners of 58 in 2015)

Tom & Kathryn Charters (4)

Bruce & Julie Donaldson (2)

Phillip & Lucy Johnson (2)

Dick Jones (8)

Ken Jones (3)

Byron & Teresa Jonk (2)

Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens (7)

Dennis & Valerie McKiver (24)

Nancy Mahaffey (1)

Ed Monsen (1)

Rosalie Stanley (2)

Scott Vorhees (1)

John & Susan Winding (2)

This page is cached by ProCache v101. The original page was rendered on 2017-04-28 20:23:59 in 0.5104 seconds.